Home About ZPP Chairperson ZPTC Members MPPs Z.P. Staff Standing Comt. MPs & MLAs Contact Us  
    Guntur District History
    Guntur District Profile
    Guntur District Map
    Key Contacts
    Zilla Parishad Budget
    ZP High Schools
    ZPP Assets
    Tender Notices
    Paper Clippings
    Govt.Orders (G.O.s)
    Right To Information (RTI)
    District Census (2011)

Zilla Praja Parishad
have been functioning in the State from 01.11.1959. Earlier to 1959 there used to be District Boards constituted under AP Andhra Area District Boards Act, 1920 and AP Telangana Area District Boards Act, 1955. The Balwantrai Mehata Committee have recommended constitution of three tier Panchayat Raj system as instruments of decentralization of power at various levels i.e., Village, Mandal, (or Block) and District level. Before the present enactment, the Zilla Praja Parishads and Mandal Praja Parishad were constituted under the AP Mandal Praja Parishads and Zilla Praja Parishads and Zilla Abhivriddi Sameeksha Mandals Act, 1986.
The present Act i.e., AP Panchayat Raj Act, Act. No.13 of 1994 which came into force w.e.f., 30.05.1994 replacing the AP Gram Panchayat Act, 1964 and AP Mandal Praja Parishads, Zilla Praja Parishad, Zilla Abhivriddi Sameeksha Mandals Act, 1968. It is an integrated Act covering the provisions of Gram Panchayats, Mandal Praja Parishads and Zilla Praja Parishads bringing out some uniformity matters like elections, convening and conduct of meetings, relationship between each tier, administrative reports, budget and etc.
  Copy Rights Reserved by ZPGUNTUR Powered by : Webzone Dsigns